STL Drain Cleaning Pros (314) 464-2238

Drain cleaning in St. Louis

Sewer lateral repair programs, city by city

What 29 St. Louis-area programs charge, what they pay toward a broken sewer lateral, and what each one makes you do first. Every figure comes from the city's own page.

How to read this

The sewer lateral is the pipe from your house to the public sewer main. It belongs to you, including the part under the street. Most cities here add a yearly fee to the property tax bill and use it to help pay when a lateral breaks.

The programs differ a great deal. Some pay the whole bill. Some stop at $2,500. Some charge several hundred dollars to apply, and some won't pay for a video you had done before applying. Read your city's row before you pay anyone for a repair.

Checked on October 10, 2026. Fees and caps change, so confirm with the city before you rely on a figure. Download the table as a spreadsheet (CSV).

Found an error? Write to corrections@stldraincleaningpros.com and it will be corrected.

City or districtYearly feeWhat the program paysCost to apply
Ballwin $28 Up to $4,500. Up to $7,500 for deep digs or street cuts. $150, returned if you are turned down
Brentwood $50 Up to $4,250, a limit raised on January 1, 2026. No fee
Bridgeton $28 100% up to $10,000, then 50% of the cost above that, to a $20,000 maximum. Paid to the contractor. No fee
Chesterfield $28 Up to $15,000 $200, not refunded
Clayton $28 Reimburses 100% of eligible costs, up to $2,500. No fee
Crestwood $28 100% up to $10,000. You pay half of anything above that. No fee
Creve Coeur $28 Reimburses 70%, up to $7,500. No fee. You pay the plumber in full, then get reimbursed.
Des Peres $28 Up to $7,500 per project $250. The unused part is refunded if the city turns the repair down.
Duckett Creek district $28 Up to $7,500 per application per year $300, refunded if the lateral qualifies
Ellisville $28 No cap stated. The city pays the contractor. No fee
Ferguson $50 per unit 100% of the repair, including the video. No fee
Florissant $50 The city's own crew makes the repair. No cap stated. $300 deposit, refunded after an approved repair
Hazelwood Up to $28 90% of the lowest bid, less $30, up to $7,500. No fee stated
Kirkwood $28 75% of the lowest bid, paid to the contractor. No cap stated. $400 deposit
Lake Saint Louis $20 Up to $7,500 per household No fee. You pay for the first cleaning and camera inspection.
Manchester $50 Up to $10,000. The city's plumber does the work. $400, refunded if the application is denied
Maplewood $50 The city pays up to $5,000, or $8,000 when street or step work is needed. $325 plus 30% of the project cost
Maryland Heights $50 100% up to $10,000, then 50% of the cost above that. No fee stated
O'Fallon $30 No cap stated. A city crew does the work. $400, not refunded
Olivette $50 Up to $6,000, paid to the contractor. Up to $3,000 more for unusually hard jobs. Not stated in the city code
Overland Up to $28 The city contracts the repair. No cap stated. No fee stated
Richmond Heights $50 Reimburses up to $2,500. No fee
St. Ann Up to $28 Up to $4,000 $800. Refunded, less the video cost, if nothing is wrong.
St. Charles $20 Reimburses 90% of the lowest of three bids, up to $7,500. No fee stated
St. Louis (city) $28 Repairs under the street, alley or sidewalk only, at no charge. No fee
St. Louis County (unincorporated) $28 No cap stated. The county pays the contractor. No fee
St. Peters $28 Up to $10,000 per household $500. The balance is refunded if the defect doesn't qualify.
University City $50 The first $2,500 of the repair No fee
Webster Groves Up to $50, set each year 80% of the lowest bid, up to $3,500, or $8,000 if the repair is in the street. No fee

What nearly every program has in common

  • Houses and buildings of six units or fewer only.
  • Clearing a clog is your cost. Cabling and root cutting count as upkeep.
  • Pipe under the house is not covered.
  • The yard comes back as seed and straw. Landscaping, sprinklers and fences are yours to restore.
  • Your property taxes have to be paid up.

Each program in detail

Ballwin

Yearly fee
$28
Program pays
Up to $4,500. Up to $7,500 for deep digs or street cuts.
Cost to apply
$150, returned if you are turned down
First step
Have the line cabled, and keep the invoice.
Camera inspection
Not always needed. If you get one, you pay for it.
Bids
None. The city's contractor does the work.
Covers
Foundation wall to the main. Nothing under the building.
Call
(636) 227-2129
Source
City program page, City code, Sec. 21-8. Checked October 10, 2026.

Brentwood

Yearly fee
$50
Program pays
Up to $4,250, a limit raised on January 1, 2026.
Cost to apply
No fee
First step
Have a licensed plumber open the line.
Camera inspection
Not stated
Bids
You get three quotes. One may do in an emergency.
Covers
From about 6 inches outside the foundation. Nothing under a building.
Worth knowing
Tree roots alone don't qualify.
Call
(314) 963-8642
Source
City program page, Program policy (PDF). Checked October 10, 2026.

Bridgeton

Yearly fee
$28
Program pays
100% up to $10,000, then 50% of the cost above that, to a $20,000 maximum. Paid to the contractor.
Cost to apply
No fee
First step
Have the line cleaned.
Camera inspection
Yours. A paid camera bill is reimbursed.
Bids
Three written bids if the repair is over $1,500.
Covers
Foundation to the main. Nothing under a building.
Call
314-739-7665
Source
City program page, City code, ch. 121. Checked October 10, 2026.

Chesterfield

Yearly fee
$28
Program pays
Up to $15,000
Cost to apply
$200, not refunded
First step
Have the line cabled by a licensed plumber or drainlayer.
Camera inspection
Not stated
Bids
Not stated
Covers
Not stated on the city's page
Call
636-537-4762
Source
City program page. Checked October 10, 2026.

More on drains and sewers in Chesterfield

Clayton

Yearly fee
$28
Program pays
Reimburses 100% of eligible costs, up to $2,500.
Cost to apply
No fee
First step
Have the line cabled or jetted.
Camera inspection
Yours, and not reimbursed.
Bids
You hire the contractor.
Covers
From outside the foundation wall. Nothing under a structure.
Worth knowing
Apply before any work, except an emergency. Once every three years per lateral.
Call
314-290-8540
Source
City program page. Checked October 10, 2026.

Crestwood

Yearly fee
$28
Program pays
100% up to $10,000. You pay half of anything above that.
Cost to apply
No fee
First step
Have the line cabled and camera-inspected.
Camera inspection
Yours
Bids
The city's contractor does the work.
Covers
From 5 feet outside the foundation. Nothing under the building.
Call
314-729-4720
Source
City program page. Checked October 10, 2026.

Creve Coeur

Yearly fee
$28
Program pays
Reimburses 70%, up to $7,500.
Cost to apply
No fee. You pay the plumber in full, then get reimbursed.
First step
Have the line cleaned.
Camera inspection
Your plumber's
Bids
Three, and only after the city approves the claim.
Covers
House connection to the main. Nothing under a building.
Worth knowing
The rate rose from 50% to 70% on October 1, 2023.
Call
314-872-2533
Source
City program page, City code, ch. 520. Checked October 10, 2026.

Des Peres

Yearly fee
$28
Program pays
Up to $7,500 per project
Cost to apply
$250. The unused part is refunded if the city turns the repair down.
First step
Get a letter from a plumber describing the problem.
Camera inspection
The city's contractor
Bids
None. The city's contractor does the work.
Covers
Not stated
Worth knowing
You restore the yard yourself.
Call
314-835-6100
Source
City program page, Steps and procedures. Checked October 10, 2026.

Duckett Creek Sanitary District

Yearly fee
$28
Program pays
Up to $7,500 per application per year
Cost to apply
$300, refunded if the lateral qualifies
First step
Apply before paying for a repair or a video.
Camera inspection
A district technician
Bids
None. The district picks the contractor.
Covers
Exterior foundation wall to the main. Nothing under the house.
Worth knowing
For district customers in St. Charles County who aren't covered by a city program.
Call
636-498-8153
Source
District program page. Checked October 10, 2026.

Ellisville

Yearly fee
$28
Program pays
No cap stated. The city pays the contractor.
Cost to apply
No fee
First step
Have the line cabled.
Camera inspection
The city's contractor
Bids
Three, from city-approved contractors.
Covers
Foundation wall to the main. Nothing under the building.
Call
636-227-9660
Source
City program page, City FAQ. Checked October 10, 2026.

Ferguson

Yearly fee
$50 per unit
Program pays
100% of the repair, including the video.
Cost to apply
No fee
First step
Apply to the city.
Camera inspection
The city's plumber
Bids
None. The city gets them.
Covers
Foundation to the main
Call
(314) 524-5191
Source
City program page, Resident packet (PDF). Checked October 10, 2026.

Florissant

Yearly fee
$50
Program pays
The city's own crew makes the repair. No cap stated.
Cost to apply
$300 deposit, refunded after an approved repair
First step
Apply. No cabling is needed first.
Camera inspection
The city's contracted plumber
Bids
None
Covers
Main to within 5 feet of the foundation
Call
314-839-7643
Source
City program page, City FAQ. Checked October 10, 2026.

Hazelwood

Yearly fee
Up to $28
Program pays
90% of the lowest bid, less $30, up to $7,500.
Cost to apply
No fee stated
First step
Try to have the line opened.
Camera inspection
Yours. 90% is reimbursed if you qualify.
Bids
Three written bids
Covers
Not stated
Call
(314) 513-5031
Source
City program page, City code, sec. 500.025. Checked October 10, 2026.

Kirkwood

Yearly fee
$28
Program pays
75% of the lowest bid, paid to the contractor. No cap stated.
Cost to apply
$400 deposit
First step
Apply online.
Camera inspection
The city's contractor
Bids
Three, from city-approved contractors.
Covers
Not within 1 foot of the foundation wall
Call
(314) 984-6942
Source
City program page. Checked October 10, 2026.

Lake Saint Louis

Yearly fee
$20
Program pays
Up to $7,500 per household
Cost to apply
No fee. You pay for the first cleaning and camera inspection.
First step
Have the line cleaned and videoed.
Camera inspection
Your plumber's
Bids
Three, from the city's contractor list.
Covers
Exterior foundation wall to the public sewer
Worth knowing
Roots alone aren't covered.
Call
(636) 695-4221
Source
City program page. Checked October 10, 2026.

Manchester

Yearly fee
$50
Program pays
Up to $10,000. The city's plumber does the work.
Cost to apply
$400, refunded if the application is denied
First step
Have the line cabled by a licensed plumber or drainlayer.
Camera inspection
The city's plumber. Don't pay yours for one.
Bids
None
Covers
From 3 to 5 feet outside the foundation. Nothing under a building.
Call
636-227-1385 ext. 168
Source
City program page. Checked October 10, 2026.

Maplewood

Yearly fee
$50
Program pays
The city pays up to $5,000, or $8,000 when street or step work is needed.
Cost to apply
$325 plus 30% of the project cost
First step
Have the line cabled and videoed.
Camera inspection
Yours
Bids
None. City crews make most repairs.
Covers
Main to 4 feet outside the building
Call
314-647-8633
Source
City program page. Checked October 10, 2026.

Maryland Heights

Yearly fee
$50
Program pays
100% up to $10,000, then 50% of the cost above that.
Cost to apply
No fee stated
First step
Not stated on the city's page
Camera inspection
Not stated
Bids
Not stated
Covers
Not stated
Call
(314) 291-6550
Source
City program page. Checked October 10, 2026.

More on drains and sewers in Maryland Heights

O'Fallon

Yearly fee
$30
Program pays
No cap stated. A city crew does the work.
Cost to apply
$400, not refunded
First step
Apply before paying for a repair or a video.
Camera inspection
The city
Bids
None
Covers
Exterior foundation wall to the main
Call
636-379-7611
Source
City program page. Checked October 10, 2026.

More on drains and sewers in O'Fallon

Olivette

Yearly fee
$50
Program pays
Up to $6,000, paid to the contractor. Up to $3,000 more for unusually hard jobs.
Cost to apply
Not stated in the city code
First step
Not stated in the city code
Camera inspection
Not stated
Bids
Not stated
Covers
House plumbing to the MSD main
Call
No program number found. Call the city's Public Works office.
Source
City code, ch. 535. Checked October 10, 2026.

More on drains and sewers in Olivette

Overland

Yearly fee
Up to $28
Program pays
The city contracts the repair. No cap stated.
Cost to apply
No fee stated
First step
Have the line cabled. The paid bill must be less than two months old.
Camera inspection
The city arranges it. You pay if nothing is wrong.
Bids
None
Covers
Main to the foundation. Nothing under a permanent structure.
Call
(314) 227-2930
Source
Program application (PDF), City code, sec. 230.100. Checked October 10, 2026.

Richmond Heights

Yearly fee
$50
Program pays
Reimburses up to $2,500.
Cost to apply
No fee
First step
Have the line cabled or jetted.
Camera inspection
Your plumber's. The city may do its own.
Bids
You hire the contractor after the city approves.
Covers
Main to within 5 feet of the house. Nothing under a structure.
Worth knowing
Once per property every 10 years, since June 1, 2025.
Call
314-645-2277
Source
City program page. Checked October 10, 2026.

St. Ann

Yearly fee
Up to $28
Program pays
Up to $4,000
Cost to apply
$800. Refunded, less the video cost, if nothing is wrong.
First step
Have the line cabled. The receipt must be less than 30 days old.
Camera inspection
The city
Bids
None. The city gets them.
Covers
Foundation wall to the main. Nothing under the building.
Worth knowing
These figures are from the city code. A 2024 city handout could not be read for this guide, so confirm them with the city.
Call
No program number found. Call the city's Public Works office.
Source
City code, ch. 535, City information page. Checked October 10, 2026.

St. Charles

Yearly fee
$20
Program pays
Reimburses 90% of the lowest of three bids, up to $7,500.
Cost to apply
No fee stated
First step
Have the line cabled.
Camera inspection
The city
Bids
Three, from the city's list.
Covers
Exterior building wall to the main
Worth knowing
City limits only.
Call
636-949-3363
Source
City program page, City FAQ. Checked October 10, 2026.

More on drains and sewers in St. Charles

St. Louis (city)

Yearly fee
$28
Program pays
Repairs under the street, alley or sidewalk only, at no charge.
Cost to apply
No fee
First step
Have a licensed plumber check the line.
Camera inspection
Your plumber's
Bids
None
Covers
Only the part under the public right-of-way
Call
(314) 647-3111
Source
City program page. Checked October 10, 2026.

More on drains and sewers in the Central West End

St. Louis County

Yearly fee
$28
Program pays
No cap stated. The county pays the contractor.
Cost to apply
No fee
First step
Have the line cabled by a county-licensed plumber or drainlayer.
Camera inspection
Your plumber's
Bids
None. The county gets them.
Covers
Foundation to the main
Worth knowing
Covers unincorporated St. Louis County and twelve cities that contract with it: Bella Villa, Cool Valley, Edmundson, Green Park, Greendale, Hanley Hills, Lakeshire, Oakland, Velda City, Wellston, Westwood and Wilbur Park.
Call
314-615-8427
Source
County program page, County list of contract cities. Checked October 10, 2026.

St. Peters

Yearly fee
$28
Program pays
Up to $10,000 per household
Cost to apply
$500. The balance is refunded if the defect doesn't qualify.
First step
Have the line cleaned, and keep the receipt.
Camera inspection
The city's contractor
Bids
None. The city gets them.
Covers
Exterior foundation wall to the main
Worth knowing
Money is handed out first come, first served each year.
Call
636-477-6600 ext. 1278
Source
City program page, City FAQ. Checked October 10, 2026.

More on drains and sewers in St. Peters

University City

Yearly fee
$50
Program pays
The first $2,500 of the repair
Cost to apply
No fee
First step
Have the line cabled or jetted.
Camera inspection
Your plumber's
Bids
None. The city gets them.
Covers
Main to the house. Nothing under the home.
Call
314-505-8570
Source
City program page, Program questions and answers (PDF). Checked October 10, 2026.

Webster Groves

Yearly fee
Up to $50, set each year
Program pays
80% of the lowest bid, up to $3,500, or $8,000 if the repair is in the street.
Cost to apply
No fee
First step
Have the line cabled.
Camera inspection
The city's contractor. You pay if nothing is wrong.
Bids
Three itemized bids
Covers
From 3 to 5 feet outside the foundation. Nothing under a building.
Call
314-963-5357
Source
City program page. Checked October 10, 2026.

Cities with no program

Without a program, the whole repair is the owner's cost. Keeping the line clear on a schedule matters more there than anywhere.

Cities not confirmed either way

No city-run program turned up on the city's own site or in its code for Cottleville, Dardenne Prairie, Eureka, Sunset Hills, Town and Country, Wentzville. That isn't proof there is none. Call city hall, or look for a sewer lateral line on your property tax bill.

If your home is in St. Charles County outside a city with its own program, the Duckett Creek district's program may apply. Your sewer bill says who your provider is.

Where these figures came from

Each row was read on the city's or district's own page, or in its municipal code, on October 10, 2026. Nothing was taken from a contractor's site or a news story. Where a city's page doesn't state something, the row says so.

This page is kept by STL Drain Cleaning Pros, a site that connects St. Louis area homeowners with a local drain cleaning company.

Lateral blocked right now?

Call (314) 464-2238

Say which drain it is and how many fixtures are affected.

Call (314) 464-2238